Posts Tagged ‘download’

1990: Just In Time

June 6, 2009

On to 1990! I know less about this group since I had already graduated, so 1990 or 1991 folks, fill us in! Based on the Facebook photo, members included: Stephanie Harris, Julie Brown, Cyndi Ness, Marcus Connaghan, Roy Hamilton, Lisa Vucci, Edward Jay Vicedo, Danny Locke, Christine Wigen, Jesse Irwin, Christine Tasche, Maren Brown, Noel Neptune, Lori Ward, Toby Datta, Jennifer Larsen, Kelly Cooper, John Park, and Lisa Nestor.

01 – Stompin’ At The Savoy
02 – Joy
03 – Green Dolphin Street (Danny, soloist)
04 – Skylark (Kelly)
05 – Hurry On Down (Lisa, soloist)
06 – I’ll Be Seeing You
07 – Watch What Happens (Lori, soloist)
08 – Jada (Julie and who else? Maren? Lori?)
09 – Walk Softly
10 – Shaker Song (Lisa, soloist)
11 – Just In Time (Lisa, soloist)

Click to listen, or right click and choose “save target as” to download songs.

I’m going on memory with these soloists, so if I’ve miscredited anyone or left anyone off, let me know!


12/23/09 ETA: Marcus Connaghan provided the liner notes for the CD, so here they are!



Maren Brown 1,2,3,5,8,9,11
Kelly Cooper 2,3,4,5,9,11
Jennifer Larsen 2,3,4,5,9
Cyndi Ness 1.2,3,5,7,9,11
Elisa Vucci 1,2,3,5,6,7,9,10,11
Lori Ward 1,2,3,7,8,9,11


Julie Brown 5,8,9
Geetanjali Datta 1,2,3,5,6,7,9,1
Stephanie Harris 1,5,7,9
Lisa Nestor 2,3,5,7,9,11
Christine Tasche 1,2,3,7,11
Elisa Vucci 11
Christine Wigen 1,2,3,5,9


Roy Hamilton 1,2,3,5,6,7,9,11
Jesse Irwin 1,2,3,5,7,9
John Park 1,2,3,5,7,9
Ed Vicedo 1,2,3,5,7,9,11


Marcus Connaghan 1,2,3,5,7,9
Danny Locke 1,2,3,5,6,7,9,11
Noel Neptune 1,2,3,5,7,9


Stompin’ at the Savoy – Anders Swanson, Bass
Joy – Mark Massey, Piano
Green Dolphin Street – Danny Locke
Skylark – Kelly Cooper
Hurry On Down – Elisa Vucci
Watch What Happens – Lori Ward, Vocalmark Massey, Piano
Jada – Mark Massey, Yamaha DX7-I1
Shaker Song – Elisa Vucci, Vocalmark Massey, Piano
Just In Time – Elisa Vucci


Producer and Director: Arthur Lapierre
Recording Engineer: Martin Brenner
Mastering Engineer: Doug Doyle, Digital Brothers
Recording Studio: California State University, Long Beach
Photo Courtesy of Sanford Studios

I had planned to use this page to write a biography of the past Polytechnic High School Vocal Jazz Ensembles; however, after the most unusual circumstances that occurred while producing this CD, I think it will be of interest to let you in on what it took to complete the project. While we knew that recording a CD would be a little harder than an album, we never expected the roof to fall in. But that’s exactly what happened! While we were recording at California State University, Long Beach, the Gerald R. Daniel Recital Hall collapsed. We were in the hall the evening before to record I’ll Be Seeing You, when we noticed huge cracks in the ceiling. We left!

And just in time. Hence, the title track, Just In Time.

I want to thank all of the members for their commitment. The ensemble stayed together long enough during the summer for me to search for other studios and to eventually build a makeshift studio. With half of the group embarking on their first college summer, they still managed to stick it out to get this project completed!

Thank you to everyone who helped put it all together. I especially want to thank the parents for their great kids and for supporting our work. Thank you to Mark Massey, Anders Swanson and Aldo Bentivegna for their musicianship and friendship.

Thank you to Toby, Danny and Arifa for always being there. Thank you to Kelly for your extra commitment and for all those phone calls. Thank you to Carrie for your eyes. A special thank you to Lisa for being able to do it all.

Thank you to Martin Brenner for your very professional sound advice but NOT for feeding my paranoia (just kidding, Marry). Thank you to Donald Para, Chairman, Department of Music at California State University, Long Beach. Your commitment to the music community is appreciated by the choral music students at Polytechnic High School. Thank you to Barbara for waking up to listen to mix after mix.

I hope that you will enjoy this CD, and hear that we just need to ask high school students to excel and they will!

Art Lapierre



June 6, 2009

1989, the year I remember best! Evelyn Albor, JiAe Kim, Julie Brown, Christine Wigen, Jami Valt, Lisa Vucci, Lorie Enfinger, Gina Casalegno, Valerie Prunetti, Mariflo Joy Lacson, Kevin Gidden, Chris Krug, Danny Locke, Jason Miller, Jesse Irwin, Dave Parmeter, Noel Neptune. Did I miss anyone?

01 – New York Afternoon (Lorie and Kevin, soloists)
02 – Walk Softly
03 – Sunny Side Up (Danny, soloist)
04 – A Sleeping Bee (Lisa, soloist)
05 – Jubilee
06 – Bassically Speaking (Dave, soloist)
07 – When Sunny Gets Blue
08 – Moonglow
09 – All God’s Children (Jami)
10 – Embraceable You (Julie, Lorie, Chris, Dave – right?)

Click to listen, or right click and choose “save target as” to download songs.



June 6, 2009

Moving right along… 1988. That year, I know Amy and Jenny were members, as well as Marnell Raykoff (her name is now Navah Raphael), David Brown, Gwen Larsen, Alison Bloeser, Dave Parmeter, Lissa Richardson, David Smith, Dyan Yoshikawa, Molly Bennett, Tiffany Drake, Eileen Everett, Pat Kelly, Eric Anderson… who else?

01 – Put On a Happy Face (Amy Settle and Eric Anderson, soloists)
02 – Georgia On My Mind (Chris Shuford and Pat Kelly, soloists)
03 – Tangerine (Gwen Larsen, soloist)
04 – Goodbye Love (Amy)
05 – Four Brothers (David Brown, Amy Settle, Gwen Larsen, Pat Kelly, soloists)
06 – Get Happy
07 – Skylark (Gwen)
08 – Bali Hai
09 – DC Farewell (Dave Parmeter, soloist)
10 – Make Someone Happy
11 – ‘Round Midnight (Dave Smith and Dave Parmeter, soloists)

Click to listen, or right click and choose “save target as” to download songs.


June 5, 2009

Let’s start at the beginning. This is Long Beach Poly Vocal Jazz I 1987. I know Eric Anderson and Jeff Schimsky were in this group. Who else? Chris Shuford? Holly (last name?), David (Smith?), Pat Kelly… Were Jenny Beddow and Amy Settle in the 1987 group, or just 1988? Enjoy!

01 – How High the Moon
02 – I’ve Got You Under My Skin
03 – Seems Like Old Times
04 – Jim, Jam, Jump
05 – I Remember Clifford
06 – My Funny Valentine
07 – Tuxedo Junction
08 – Cockles & Mussels
09 – Since I Fell For You

Click to listen, or right click and choose “save target as” to download songs.